Heavy times call for mighty deeds

12 Apr

One more quick blog post from me before I head in. To revive the past spirit of this blog, I’m going to talk about my weight again ! Since stopping the chemo drugs and continuing my sedantary lifestyle, I’ve managed to slowly gain a stone in weight, putting me back to where I’d reached after the running. Seemed that those drugs were using up a lot of stored energy to stop me actually gaining weight.

Not a big issue, but I am keen to not come out of my treatment and back into the old sedentary Ben mode. So I’ve made a positive step and signed up for the JP Morgan Chase Challenge – a 3.5 mile run (~5.6km) for bankers hosted in Battersea Park mid-July. This gives me a full month to recover from surgery and another month to get moving again before the event. Being a non-professional run, a lot of people end up walking much of it – which might be the case for me, but even that will be a good healthy start to post-treatment 2009 (well, actually I’ll probably be on the last few days of chemo then, so almost post-treatment !)

All of which brings me around to…. sponsership ! This year, they have promoted sponsership, and perhaps unsurprisingly, I have chosen Macmillan Cancer Care as my chosen charity. This isn’t a big race, it’s more an important first post-treatment step for me, but if anyone wants to make a modest donation and sponser me, that would really make the struggle feel that much more worth while.

Until then, I’m off to spend some time with friends and family near my parents home, and then onto hospital on Tuesday. It’s been a great week in the run up, lots of fun times, and I made a big fish pie the other day – becoming a bit of a favorite reciepe of mine. Love to all, Ben

One Response to “Heavy times call for mighty deeds”

  1. Ben Turner May 20, 2009 at 8:23 am #

    Not sure which date it is yet – all that info’s probably at work ! Certainly should be able to walk the distance come July – it’s just a question of where I am with chemo as to if I attempt an ickle jog or two.

Leave a Reply

